Sossina Haile
Professor Sossina M. Haile
Walter P. Murphy Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
Professor of Applied Physics

Sossina M. Haile

Sossina Haile received her B.S and Ph.D (1992) from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and M.S. from the University of California, Berkeley. She carried out postdoctoral research at the Max Planck Institut für Festkörperforschung [Institute for Solid State Research], Stuttgart, Germany (1992-1993) as a Humboldt Fellow. Haile joined Northwestern University in 2015, after having served 18 years on the faculty at the California Institute of Technology.

Sossina Haile's research broadly encompasses solid state ionic materials and devices, with particular focus on energy technologies. She has established a new class of fuel cells based on solid acid electrolytes and demonstrated record power densities for solid oxide fuel cells. Her more recent work on water and carbon dioxide dissociation for solar-fuel generation by thermochemical processes has created new avenues for harnessing sunlight to meet energy demands.

She is the recipient of several awards, including in 2008 an American Competitiveness and Innovation (ACI) Fellowship from the National Science Foundation in recognition of “her timely and transformative research in the energy field and her dedication to inclusive mentoring, education and outreach across many levels,” the 2010 Chemical Pioneers Award of the Chemical Heritage Foundation, and the 2012 International Ceramics Prize for the World Academy of Ceramics. In 2016 she was inducted into the African Academy of Sciences.


Arthur Shih
Ph. D. Chemical Engineering
Purdue University
B.S.E. Chemical Engineering
University of Michigan
Focus: Ammonia Synthesis

Graduate Students

Connor Carr
Materials Science and Engineering, G6
B.S., MS&E
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Focus: Fundamental material characterization
Louis Wang
Materials Science and Engineering, G5
B.S., Chemical Engineering
Washington University in St. Louis
Focus: SAFC electrolyte materials
Elise Goldfine
Materials Science and Engineering, G5
B.S., MS&E
Cornell University
Focus: Heteroanionic materials
Isaac Daniel Dyer
Materials Science and Engineering, G4
B.S., Chemical Engineering
Oklahoma State University
Focus: Solid state lithium ion batteries
Dalton Cox
Materials Science and Engineering, G4
B.S., Chemical Engineering and Physics
Northeastern University
Focus: Tomography of fuel cell and battery materials

Grace Xiong
Materials Science and Engineering, G3
B.S., Chemical Engineering
California Institute of Technology
Focus: SAFC electrolyte materials

Trevor Worthy
Materials Science and Engineering, G2
B.S., MS&E
Georgia Institute of Technology
Focus: SAFC electrolyte materials
Dylan Bardgett
Chemistry, G2
B.S., Chemistry
University of Oregon
Paul Chery
Materials Science and Engineering, G2
B.A. Physics and Computer Science
Macalester College
Focus: SAFC electrode materials
Patrick Donahue
Materials Science and Engineering, G2
B.S., MS&E
University of California, Berkeley
Focus: Mixed-conducting oxide materials
Michael Thuis
Materials Science and Engineering, G1
B.S., Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
Colorado School of Mines
Focus: Solid-state sodium-ion batteries

Masters Students

Sirui Chen
Materials Science and Engineering, M1
B.S. Chemical Engineering, U.C. Irvine
Focus: Heterogenous solid catalyst
Chao-hua (Raymond) Huang
Materials Science and Engineering, M1
B.S. MS&E, National Chiao Tung University
Focus: Metal Oxide Thin Film Materials
Xuanze (Ben) Yu
Materials Science and Engineering, M1
B.S. MS&E, U.C. Berkeley
Focus: Solar Thermochemical Materials
Ziming Wang
Materials Science and Engineering, M1
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, U.T. Austin
Focus: CDP/Metal Oxide Reactivity
Tiffany Miao
Materials Science and Engineering, M1
B.S. Chemical Engineering, Northeastern University Focus: SAFC Cathode Charaterization

Undergraduate and High School Students

Sarah Bogan
Materials Science and Engineering, U3
Northwestern University
Focus: Environmentally concious catalysts
Taylor McCall
Chemistry, U3
Grambling State University
Focus: Solid Oxide Electrolytes
Fabian Williams
Chemical Engineering, U3
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Focus: Solid Acid Electrolytes
Andrew Green
High School Student
Northwestern University
Focus: Electrospray





Dr. Wei Lai
Professor, Michigan State University
Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
Former Graduate Student (2001-2007)
Dr. Robert Usiskin
Staff Scientist, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research
Department of Physical Chemistry of Solids
Former Graduate Student (2009-2015)
Dr. Tae-Sik Oh
Professor, Auburn University
Department of Chemical Engineering
Former Graduate Student (2008-2013)

Dr. William Chueh
Professor, Stanford University
Department of Materials Science & Engineering
Former Graduate Student (2005-2011)
Dr. Hadi Tavassol
Professor, California State University Long Beach 
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Former Postdoc (2015-2016)
Dr. Aron Varga
Leibniz Institute of Surface Modification
Former Graduate Student (2008-2013)
Dr. Ho-II Ji
Scientist, Korea Institute of Science and Technology

Former Graduate Student (2012-2017)


Dr. Sihyuk Choi
Professor, Kumoh National Institute of Technology

Former Postdoc (2015-2018)


Dr. Haemin Paik
Postdoc, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Former Graduate Student (2013-2019)


Dr. Xin Xu
Postdoc, Stanford University

Former Graduate Student (2014-2019)


Dr. Austin Plymill
Postdoc, The Chemours Company

Former Graduate Student (2016-2021)


Dr. Ara Jo
Assistant Professor, Kangwon National University

Former Posdoc (2019-2021)


Dr. Jill K. Wenderott
Postdoc, Argonne National Laboratory

Former Posdoc (2018-2021)



Dr. Mary Louie
Research Scientist, PARC
Former Graduate Student
Dr. Evan Brown
Principal Engineer, Exponent
Materials & Corrosion Engineering
Former Graduate Student
Dr. Calum Chisolm
CEO & Co-founder, SAFCell
Former Graduate Student (1998-2003)

Dr. Mikhail Khislitsyn
Associate Manager, Tesla Motors
Former Graduate Student (2004-2009)
Dr. Dane Boysen
Chief Technologist, Cyclotron Road

Former Graduate Student (1999-2004)


Dr. Chih-Kai Yang
Process TD Engineer, Intel Corporation

Former Graduate Student (2009-2015)


Dr. Michael Ignatowich
Sr. Engineer in Core R&D, The Dow Chemical Company

Former Graduate Student (2012-2017)

Dr. Timothy Davenport
Staff Engineer, United Technologies Research Center

Former Postdoc (2012-2018)

Dr. Chris Kucharczyk
Data Scientist, IDEO

Former Graduate Student (2012-2018)

Dr. Daehee Lee 
Senior Researcher, Samsung Electro-Mechanics 
Former Visiting Scholar (2017-2018)
Dr. Sheel Sanghvi
Head of Electrification, Nyobolt 
Former Graduate Student (2014-2019)
Dr. Weizi Yuan
Staff Engineer, Western Digital
Former Graduate Student (2015-2020)
Dr. Ruiyun Huang
Process Engineer, Applied Materials
Former Graduate Student (2015-2020)
Dr. Xin Qian
Senior Research Engineer, Saint Gobain

Former Graduate Student (2016-2021)


Dr. Shobhit Pandey
Former Graduate Student (2015-2021)